I LOST FRIENDS BECAUSE I NETWORK FOR ANIMALS. I DO IT ANYWAY.

I LOST FRIENDS BECAUSE I NETWORK FOR ANIMALS. I DO IT ANYWAY.

YES, I’VE LOST FRIENDS BECAUSE I NETWORK FOR ANIMALS. ONE OF THEM WAS LILLIS WERDER, A PHOTOGRAPHER, IN MANASSAS, VIRGINIA..

SHE UNFRIENDED ME FIRST – AFTER TWENTY YEARS.
I ASKED HER WHY, AND SHE TOLD ME “I DON’T WANT TO SEE THESE DEPRESSING ANIMALS OF YOURS…” IT WENT DOWN HILL FROM THERE…

I REALIZED I NEVER KNEW HER AT ALL. I UNDERSTOOD I HAD NEVER KNOWN HER. I HAD THOUGHT SHE WAS A NICE PERSON, BUT AFTER LISTENING TO HORRIBLE THINGS SPEW OUT…

I SAID “ENOUGH…” AND BLOCKED AND KEPT IT MOVING…

WHY?

WASN’T MY FRIEND OF 20 YEARS WORTH WALKING AWAY FROM THOUSANDS OF ANIMALS WHO NEED VOLUNTEERS, AND ADVOCATES?

NO.

WHY?

BECAUSE NO REAL FRIEND WOULD ASK ME TO DO IT, AND NO REAL FRIEND WOULD STOP BEING MY FRIEND BECAUSE OF IT. NO REAL FRIEND WOULD CALL ME NAMES BECAUSE I CARE ABOUT ANIMALS.

I’D PREFER NO FRIENDS TO SO CALLED FRIENDS LIKE THIS…

I MEAN…

WHAT IF I WERE LYING IN THE HOSPITAL AND NEEDED A “FRIEND…” TO HELP ME… OH, NO, WE CAN’T ASK MY FRIEND…IT’S TOO DEPRESSING… WELL, ‘NUFF SAID… I’LL BE FRIENDS WITH ALL THE CRAZY CAT & DOG PEOPLE LIKE ME…

I HAVE A FEELING THAT IF I NEEDED A HAND THAT THEY WOULD BE MORE LIKELY TO SHOW UP.

THANKS…. FOR NOT BEING MY FRIEND…

Leave a Reply

