Other animals helping humans, just by listening. ♥

Other animals helping humans, just by listening. ♥

Other animals helping humans, just by listening. ♥

More than 3,000 listening dogs help kids to learn how to read. Started in 1999, this program was such a success that thousands of teams now work throughout ten countries.

“They have so much fun,” librarian Ginny Rawls said. “The kids just light up. It’s really a wonderful program. I can’t say enough good things about it.” ♥

There are so many reasons why this is a wonderful idea. Many children struggle with reading: they feel self conscious and hate to read aloud in class. So what better listener than a friendly, non-judgmental dog? Instead of being terrified of making a mistake or being laughed at if they mispronounce a word, children can have fun reading.

Seven year old Jesse said of the program, “Last year in grade 1, I didn’t know how to read. It didn’t make me feel very good about myself. After I started to read to Chelsea I felt good. I like to read to her because she helps me with words and she’s a good listener. Now I can read a lot of different books. That makes me very happy. My favorite thing I like about Chelsea is that she does cool tricks and barks to say ‘bye’ to me.” ♥

Read more details here:

http://www.care2.com/causes/listening-dogs-make-reading-aloud-fun.html#ixzz2RiXfOceF

Leave a Reply

